A mixture of broadcasters, musicians, and other influential sorts...
Hyundai Mercury Prize

The judging panel for this year's Hyundai Mercury Prize has been announced.

The shortlist of albums for this year's prize will be confirmed on July 27th at a live launch hosted by Huw Stephens.

The panel responsible for this task has been announced, and it's a mixture of broadcasters, musicians, journalists, and more.

Marcus Mumford, Mistajam, Lianne La Havas, and the Guardian's own Harriet Gibsone. The list in full reads:

Phil Alexander - Editor-in-Chief, Mojo and Q
Clara Amfo - Broadcaster
Jamie Cullum - Musician and Broadcaster
Ella Eyre - Musician and Songwriter
Harriet Gibsone - Music News Editor, The Guardian
Lianne La Havas - Musician and Songwriter
Will Hodgkinson - Chief Rock & Pop Critic, The Times
MistaJam - DJ & Broadcaster
Marcus Mumford - Musician and Songwriter
Jeff Smith - Head of Music, 6 Music and Radio 2
Jessie Ware - Musician and Songwriter
Mike Walsh - Head of Music, Radio X

The Chair of the judging panel is the music executive, Tony Wadsworth CBE

David Wilkinson, Mercury Prize Chairman said "The judges spend several months listening to over 200 albums entered for this year’s Hyundai Mercury Prize and then meet to decide on the 12 ‘Albums of the Year’. It’s been an exciting year for UK music – so it’s going to be tougher than ever for them choosing the 12 albums. After last year’s successful event we’re looking forward to an equally diverse and eclectic shortlist being announced on 27th July."

The winner of the Hyundai Mercury Prize 2017 will be announced at a ceremony on September 14th at the Eventim Apollo, Hammersmith.

Buy Clash Magazine


Join us on VERO

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.

Follow Clash: