It features members of Green Day, Grizzly Bear and more...

Morrissey has announced plans for new covers album 'California Son'.

The controversial indie legend has been at work on a new project, collecting new versions of some of his favourite 60s and 70s cuts.

Released on May 24th via Morrissey’s label Etienne, an imprint of BMG, 'California Son' features 12 brand new recordings.

Produced by Joe Chiccarelli, it features a raft of guests including Ed Droste of Grizzly Bear, Ariel Engle of Broken Social Scene, Billie Joe Armstrong of Green Day, and Petra Haden.

The first song to appear online from the record is a cover of Roy Orbison's classic track 'It's Over'.

The recording has been given the seal of approval by the 60s icon's family, with Roy Orbison’s son, Roy Jnr commenting:

"We love Morrissey! Morrissey's hair, and melancholy and poetic lyrics always reminded me of my Dad. His version of “It’s Over” is great."

Tune in below.

Although this is news, we can't quite resist commenting on the tracklist. Why have supposedly progressive voices - such as Ed Droste and Billie Joe Armstrong - agreed to share a platform with Morrissey, whose sympathy for Tommy Robinson and support for the right wing For Britain party has been well documented?

Anyway, here is the tracklisting:

1. Morning Starship (Jobriath) with Ed Droste of Grizzly Bear
2. Don’t Interrupt The Sorrow (Joni Mitchell) with Ariel Engle of Broken Social Scene
3. Only a Pawn In Their Game (Bob Dylan) with Petra Haden
4. Suffer the Little Children (Buffy St Marie)
5. Days of Decision (Phil Ochs) with Sameer Gadhia of Young The Giant
6. It’s Over (Roy Orbison) with LP
7. Wedding Bell Blues (The Fifth Dimension) with Billie Joe Armstrong of Green Day & Lydia Night of The Regrettes
8. Loneliness Remembers What Happiness Forgets (Dionne Warwick)
9. Lady Willpower (Gary Puckett)
10. When You Close Your Eyes (Carly Simon) with Petra Haden
11. Lenny’s Tune (Tim Hardin)
12. Some Say I Got Devil (Melanie)

Join us on Vero, as we get under the skin of global cultural happenings. Follow Clash Magazine as we skip merrily between clubs, concerts, interviews and photo shoots. Get backstage sneak peeks and a true view into our world as the fun and games unfold.

Buy Clash Magazine


Join us on VERO

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.

Follow Clash: