Nubya Garcia
On International Jazz Day, no less...

Clash has just emerged from the Jazz FM Awards, where some of the best new talent in Britain was recognised.

The past 12 months have seen an incredible surge of energy run through the British jazz scene, gaining an international foothold.

Saxophonist Nubya Garcia won Breakthrough Act of the Year, Ezra Collective picked up two awards, and Ashley Henry led the house band.

Shabaka Hutchings' achievements were recognised, while Zara McFarlane won Vocalist Of The Year for the second time in her career.

Greats such as George Benson and Pat Metheny were recognised, with drum 'n' bass producer Goldie filming a tribute for the latter.

At the side, Kamasi Washington soaked up performances from an all-female line up, including everyone from Esperanza Spalding to Dame Cleo Laine.

Full list of winners:

Breakthrough Act of the Year
Nubya Garcia

International Soul Artist of the Year

UK Jazz Act of the Year (Public Vote)
Ezra Collective Digital #

Initiative of the Year
Esperanza Spalding: Exposure

Instrumentalist of the Year
Evan Parker

International Blues Artist of the Year
Robert Cray

Jazz Innovation of the Year
Shabaka Hutchings: Multiple projects

Vocalist of the Year
Zara McFarlane

International Jazz Artist of the Year
Cécile McLorin Salvant

Album of the Year (Public Vote)
Thundercat – Drunk

Live Experience of the Year (Public Vote)
Ronnie Scott’s presents Ezra Collective – EFG London Jazz Festival at Islington Assembly Hall

PPL Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient:
Dame Cleo Laine

Impact Award Recipient:
George Benson

PRS for Music Gold Award Recipient:
Pat Metheny

Join us on Vero, as we get under the skin of global cultural happenings. Follow Clash Magazine as we skip merrily between clubs, concerts, interviews and photo shoots. Get backstage sneak peeks and a true view into our world as the fun and games unfold.

Buy Clash Magazine


Join us on VERO

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.