It's out on June 1st...
'As Long As I Have You'

Roger Daltrey has confirmed plans for new album 'As Long As I Have You'.

The record was produced by Dave Eringa, and is billed as a return to the raw R&B that fuelled The Who's earliest shows.

The title cut is a cover of Garnett Mimms' storming R&B classic, while Roger Daltrey also covers Nick Cave’s ‘Into My Arms’, ‘You Haven’t Don Nothing’ by Stevie Wonder, and Stephen Stills’ ‘How Far’.

The band features Pete Townshend on seven songs, while Mick Talbot - once of the Style Council - contributes on keys.

He explains: "This is a return to the very beginning, to the time before Pete [Townshend] started writing our songs, to a time when we were a teenage band playing soul music to small crowds in church halls. That's what we were, a soul band. And now, I can sing soul with all the experience you need to sing it."

"Life puts the soul in. I’ve always sung from the heart but when you’re 19, you haven’t had the life experience with all its emotional trials and traumas that you have by the time you get to my age. You carry all the emotional bruises of life and when you sing these songs, those emotions are in your voice. You feel the pain of a lost love. You feel it and you sing it and that's soul."

"For a long time, I've wanted to return to the simplicity of these songs, to show people my voice, a voice they won't have heard before. It felt like the right time. It's where I am, looking back to that time, looking across all those years but also being here, now, in the soulful moment..."

Check out the title track 'As Long As I Have You' below.

1. As Long As I Have You
2. How Far
3. Where Is A Man To Go?
4. Get On Out Of The Rain
5. I’ve Got Your Love
6. Into My Arms
7. You Haven’t Done Nothing
8. Out Of Sight, Out Of Mind
9. Certified Rose
10. The Love You Save
11. Always Heading Home

Join us on Vero, as we get under the skin of global cultural happenings. Follow Clash Magazine as we skip merrily between clubs, concerts, interviews and photo shoots. Get backstage sneak peeks and a true view into our world as the fun and games unfold.

Buy Clash Magazine