Roger Sargent to shoot accompanying film...
'Night Thoughts'

Suede have been teasing fans of late, placing snippets of new material online.

Now, they're ready to pounce. New album 'Night Thoughts' will be released on January 22nd, with the band set to premiere the material at London's Roundhouse venue on November 13th and 14th.

The album will be accompanied by a short film directed by Roger Sargent. The director had the following to say: "Suede and I have crossed paths a few times over the years. I sneaked onstage for their '93 Glastonbury show to get photos for NME... more recently I was asked directly to do some of the photography for the last album."

"I was asked to pitch an idea for this film project... I really had no idea what they were wanting or expecting so I tried
 to write in the least self-conscious way possible. The record deals with a lot of familial themes — life, death, love, anguish and despair; themes that are expanded upon in its visual companion, providing a study of how those elements affect
the human psyche. It resonated with me for many reasons, not least because my mother passed away a few days after I started writing a story for the film. The film starts with a man drowning in the waters of a deserted beach at night, as he fights for life, his mind plays out the events that lead him to be there."

Check out a preview of the film below.

'Night Thoughts' will be available on digital download, CD and double gatefold vinyl from January 22nd. Tracklisting:

Side A:
1. When You Are Young
2. Outsiders
3. No Tomorrow

Side B:
1. Pale Snow
2. I Don't Know How To Reach You
3. What I'm Trying To Tell You

Side C:
1. Tightrope
2. Learning To Be
3. Like Kids

Side D:
1. I Can't Give Her What She Wants
2. When You Were Young
3. The Fur & The Feathers

Buy Clash Magazine


Follow Clash: